Home / Services
CB TEST CERTICICATE Download
Approved Place of Manuf. Download
Green Certificate Download
TÜV Certificate Download
Green Certificate Download
CSA Certificate Download
UL Certificate Download
VDE Certificate (S0) Download
VDE Certificate (S3) Download

Power Factor Improvement

Capacitors can be used when we need to improve the power factor. In this condition, three capacitors are usually used with three-phase load. At this time, we do not use Farad to calculate capacitor. We use Reactive Power instead, the unit is var. The purpose to add capacitors is to offset the effects of inductive load like motors or fluorescent lights. Then the load can be close to resistive load.
var = V2 × 2πfC
In the above formula, V represents Voltage (V),f  represents Frequency (Hz), C represents capacitance (F).
If we use kvar and μF as the units, then the formula becomes as below:
kvar = V2 × 2 πfC × 10-6 ÷ 1000 = V2 × 2 πfC × 10-9

Using a capacitor to lower voltage

We can use a capacitor to lower voltage because of the capacitive reactance that is generated at a certain frequency of the AC signals. The capacitive reactance can limit the maximum working current.
In the low potential power source, using a capacitor to lower voltage is not as safe as using a transformer. But the power source that we use a capacitor to lower its voltage is with small size and low cost. Because of the consideration of cost, this method is used widely in the power source, such as the electronic thermostat of a refrigerator or the on /off power source of a remote control. Compared with using resistance to lower voltage, using a capacitor to lower voltage can make very small heat loss in the capacitor for AC with 50/60Hz frequency. Therefore using a capacitor to lower voltage is better than using resistance to lower voltage.

For example, when the frequency is 60Hz, the capacitive reactance that is produced by a 1uF capacitor is about 2654Ω(XC=1/(2*3.14*f*C) ). When the 220V AC voltage is applied to two ends of the capacitor, the maximum current flowing through the capacitor is approximately 83mA. But there is no power consumption in the capacitor. If the capacitor is an ideal capacitor, the current flowing through the capacitor is imaginary current, it makes reactive power.

According to this feature, if we use a resistive element and a 1uF capacitor to make series, the voltage of the two ends of the resistive element and the power consumption generated by the resistive element depend entirely on the characteristic of the resistive element.

For example, if we use a 120V/10W bulb and a 1uF capacitor to make series and then connect with the 220V/60Hz AC voltage, the bulb will be bright. It will issue normal brightness without being burned. Because a 120V/10W bulb requires 83mA current (10W/120V). It coincides with the characteristic that a 1uF capacitor can generate capacitive reactance to limit the maximum working current. Thus using a capacitor to lower voltage is actually using capacitive reactance to limit current. The capacitor plays a role in limiting the current and dynamic allocation of the voltage of the capacitor and the load.

When using a capacitor to lower voltage, we should notice the following items:
1. We should choose an appropriate capacitor according to the current size of load and the operating frequency of alternating current, not the voltage and power of load.
2. When using a capacitor to limit current, it should be a nonpolar capacitor, not a electrolytic capacitor.
3. We can not use a capacitor to lower voltage in high power conditions because of insecurity.
4. Using a capacitor to lower voltage is not suitable for dynamic load conditions.
5. Using a capacitor to lower voltage is not suitable for capacitive and inductive loads.
6. When we need DC operation, we should use half wave rectifier as far as possible and meet the conditions of the constant load. Bridge rectifier is not recommended.

Are power savers really effective?

Before talking about this issue, we have to understand how capacitors save power. Motors are inductive load. When using motors, the current contains invalid current (wasted current), and the ineffective current phase angle of inductor is contrary to capacitors. Therefore we can add capacitors to make them counteract each other. This is why factories mount capacitors to enhance power factor and reduce invalid current so that they can save the power rate.

The higher the power factor is, the less the invalid current is. In general households, the power factors of electric appliances are very high. As electric appliances usually have capacitors inside to improve the power factor, so general households do not need any capacitors.(power savers)

Even though the power savers are flaunted that they have miraculous effect to save power, the truth is that they are just capacitors. This type of power savers has caused a whirlwind in the market, but consumers just bought a capacitor with a beautiful shell. It’s expensive without significant effect on saving power.

首頁 / 服務支援
CB測試證書 下載
工廠認證 下載
環保認證 下載
企業營運能力認證 下載
環保認證 下載
加拿大安全認證 下載
美國安全認證 下載
德國國家認證(S0) 下載
德國防爆認證(S3) 下載

功率因數改善

電容器可使用在需要功率因數改善的場合中。在這種情形下,通常是三個電容器配合三相的負載使用。此時電容器的單位不用法拉計算,而是使用無功功率(Reactive Power),單位為乏(var)。 加入電容器的目的是因抵消馬達或日光燈等電感性負載的影響,使負載儘量接近電阻性負載。
var = V2 × 2πfC
上述公式中V:電壓(V),f:頻率(Hz),C:電容量(F)
如改使用千乏(kvar)與微法拉(μF)為單位,則公式變成:
kvar = V2 × 2 πfC × 10-6 ÷ 1000 = V2 × 2 πfC × 10-9

電容器降壓

電容降壓的工作原理是利用電容在一定的交流信號頻率下產生的容抗來限制最大工作電流。在低壓電源中,用電容器降壓(實際是電容限流)與用變壓器相比,電容降壓的電源體積小、成本較低,但缺點是不如變壓器變壓的電源安全。因成本的考量,這種降壓方式廣泛的被使用。例如冰箱電子溫控器或遙控電源的開/關等電源都是用電容器降壓而製作的。 而相對於電阻降壓,對於頻率較低的50/60Hz交流電而言,在電容器上產生的熱能損耗很小,所以電容器降壓更優於電阻降壓。
例如,在60Hz的工頻條件下,一個1uF的電容所產生的容抗約為2654歐姆(XC=1/(2*3.14*f*C) )。當220V的交流電壓加在電容器的兩端,則流過電容的最大電流約為83mA。雖然流過電容的電流有83mA,但在電容器上並不產生功耗,如果電容是一個理想電容,則流過電容的電流為虛部電流,它所作的功為無功功率。
根據這個特點,我們如果在一個1uF的電容器上再串聯一個阻性元件,則阻性元件兩端所得到的電壓和它所產生的功耗完全取決於這個阻性元件的特性。
例如,我們將一個120V/10W的燈泡與一個1uF的電容串聯,再接到220V/60Hz的交流電壓上,燈泡被點亮,發出正常的亮度而不會被燒毀。因為120V/10W的燈泡所需的電流為83mA (10W/120V),它與1uF電容所產生的限流特性相吻合。 因此,電容降壓實際上是利用容抗限流。而電容器實際上起到一個限制電流和動態分配電容器和負載兩端電壓的角色。
採用電容降壓時應注意以下幾點:
1、根據負載的電流大小和交流電的工作頻率選取適當的電容,而不是依據負載的電壓和功率。
2、限流電容必須採用無極性電容,絕對不能採用電解電容。
3、電容降壓不能用於大功率條件,因為不安全。
4、電容降壓不適合動態負載條件。
5、電容降壓不適合容性和感性負載。
6、當需要直流工作時,儘量採用半波整流。不建議採用橋式整流。而且要滿足恒定負載的條件。

省電器真的有效嗎?

在談論這問題之前,先帶您了解電容器省電的原理。
因馬達為電感性負載,使用時電流中會含有『無效電流』(簡單的說就是:浪費掉的電流),而電感的無效電流相位角剛好與電容器相反,所以加入電容器這個純電容性負載,使其相互抵消。這也是為什麼工廠都會裝置電容器來提高功率因數,降低無效電流,節省電費。且台電公司明文規定:功率因數超過80%時,電費會給予優惠。
但一般家庭內的電器其功率因數(功率因數愈高其無效電流愈少)都很高了,因電器內部通常都有電容器來提高功率因數,所以一般家庭是不太需要電容器(省電器)這種東西。
所以,標榜著有神奇省電效果的省電器,說穿了就是個電容器罷了!這類型的省電器曾在市場上造成一股旋風,但消費者買到的其實只是一個擁有美麗外殼的電容器,除了價格昂貴之外,省電效果根本不顯著。